Turn On Your Solaris Sparc Based Server

To make your Sparc based server running is not as easy as you turn on your Intel based processor server, it is not as simply as pushing the power button and run well. You have to make some “writing” in this process

Few weeks ago as I said I received 2 Sun Sparc T5220 with Solaris 10 inside it. So I have to configure everything… But then when I turn on the server, I waited for long enough and I still cannot to telnet that server (Newbie…) So my boss asked me to use Hyper Terminal and COM port cable (it’s a cable with one edge as serial port and the other one as RJ 45 CMIIW).

So I plugged that cable to my laptop and Ser Mgmt port in the server. For the settings of the Hyper Terminal, you can connect through any available COM port (trial and error), if you can connect to the right COM port you need to put, as the settings in the connection, looks like the default for Sun Machines:

  • 9600 baud
  • 8bits
  • No parity
  • 1 Stop bit
  • No handshake

After that you need to plug the power cord to the server. Then in my Hyper Terminal screen there is all this low level check or firmware based test named Integrated Lights Out Manager or ILOM system console. Actually you can access this server in this state using SSH console but then you have to put your server in a network with DHCP service then you can connect through Net Mgmt port, but my server is not going to use DHCP service.

In this ILOM console you will be prompted a login console just type root and for the password type changeme, default password from SUN. You can change it yourself by typing:

  • cd /SP/users
  • set root password=your-new-password

ILOM login

If already able to login to the ILOM, now we need to power on the system by typing:

  • start /SYS
  • type y and enter
  • start /SP/console
  • type y and enter

After you start this, it will start OpenBoot and bring you to the OK prompt or directly bring you to the Solaris, in my case it will bring me directly to Solaris 10. But if not you have to type:

  • show-disks
  • boot disk0 #or boot from any device that is showed in show disks, just try it

Then you can type your username and password for Solaris, and your Solaris is already up and run ^^

Leave a Reply

